Unravel the full experience of Jujutsu Kaisen, a popular anime series and movie, with both release and chronological order for best understanding and enjoyment.

Catching Up with Jujutsu Kaisen: A Comprehensive Guide

Jujutsu Kaisen, the hit anime, has been enjoyed by fans worldwide since its initial release. As the show's second season is currently airing, fans may wonder what the correct way to watch Jujutsu Kaisen is in terms of release order and chronological order, including its prequel movie. This guide aims to help fans navigate the show and explain where the Jujutsu Kaisen 0 movie fits in both the timeline and release date orders.

There also are a few episodes of the ongoing second season that serve as prequel narratives for major characters. Even if you are an anime expert, getting the omnibus unpacked in the correct order can become a challenging task. Therefore, a comprehensive guide on how to watch Jujutsu Kaisen could be a helping hand for a better understanding of this enthralling universe.

Jujutsu Kaisen follows a simple timeline compared to other series, making the order quite easy to follow. Let us start with the release date order:

The first season of Jujutsu Kaisen, with 24 episodes, aired from October 2021 to March 2022. A prequel movie named Jujutsu Kaisen 0 was released in March 2022, achieving phenomenal success with nearly $200m at the box office. The current ongoing second season kick-started in July 2023 with a five-episode prequel arc titled 'Hidden Inventory/Premature Death'. After the break, it swung back into action in August with the 'Shibuya Incident arc' and is set to conclude in December 2023.

By release date, the watching order is as follows:

1. Jujutsu Kaisen Season 1 (episodes 1-24)

2. Jujutsu Kaisen 0 (movie)

3. Jujutsu Kaisen Season 2 (ongoing)

However, if we dig into the chronological order, things become slightly more entangled. Technically, the storyline begins in the first five episodes of Jujutsu Kaisen season 2, outlining the past and dynamic relationship between Gojo and Geto. Following that, the narrative continues in the prequel movie, Jujutsu Kaisen 0, which transpires after the 'Hidden Inventory' arc from season 2, but before the series's first season. The intricate continuity then resumes in season 2, episode 6, after the events of the first season.

In chronological order, the watching sequence would be:

1. Jujutsu Kaisen season 2 (episodes 1-5) ['Hidden Inventory/Premature Death arc']

2. Jujutsu Kaisen 0 (movie)

3. Jujutsu Kaisen Season 1 (episodes 1-24)

4. Jujutsu Kaisen season 2 (episodes 6-23) ['Shibuya Incident arc', ongoing]

For a holistic experience, it is highly recommended to watch the Jujutsu Kaisen 0 movie, which enriches the understanding of key characters and events that unravel early in Jujutsu Kaisen season 2. There may be some overlapping story revelations, but the preferred order remains as suggested above.

It is generally ill-advised to skip any Jujutsu Kaisen episodes. The anime is not just captivating for its thrilling narrative and outstanding animation but is also filled with depth in character development and world-building. Meaningful insights could be lost if episodes are missed or skipped entirely.

As of now, there are 37 aired episodes of Jujutsu Kaisen and one movie. Ten more episodes are yet to air as part of the 'Shibuya Incident arc', bringing the total to 47 episodes anticipated in total by the year 2024. Enjoy the roller coaster ride with Jujutsu Kaisen, and remember, every episode adds a distinct flavor to this delicious anime feast.

Author Image

Adam Devine

Hey, it's Adam Devine here! When I'm not out and about, you can bet I'm either casting a line, hoping for the biggest catch, or lounging at home, delivering some epic fatalities in Mortal Kombat. Life's all about the thrill of the catch and the perfect combo move. Whether I'm battling fish or virtual foes, it's all in a day's fun for me. Let's get reel and play on!

Post Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment!